The universe has invited me to write this blog far too many times to count.

I grew up in rural Indiana and now my family lives in Texas. My opinions aren’t what you’d necessarily expect from someone who spent basically their entire life in those places. This means I have no shortage of exposure to people with differing opinions who feel safe enough to express them in a place that probably welcomes their viewpoints more than mine. That has been extremely helpful and extremely frustrating for me.

Anyone who has talked with me for an extended period of time probably knows I was on the debate team; if you’re considering joining the activity, I highly recommend it, especially if you’re a woman and/or a person of color. Without rehashing my college apps too much, I’ll just say that debate taught me the value of encountering and engaging arguments with which you disagree. It also taught me the value of constructive discourse.

Too many times, nowadays, I see people expounding upon their opinions to people who are essentially an echo chamber; they already share the same beliefs so they aren’t going to question the warrants of what is said too stringently, if at all. If I agreed, there was really no point in communicating my thoughts to people who already agreed with me. And if I disagreed, I wasn’t willing to undertake the emotional burden of getting into a political conversation on Facebook (because sadly, that’s where most political discourse occurs apparently).

Until now. I’ve received too many invitations from people from both sides not too respond. In fact, I’ll be analyzing an open letter in my first post that does just that. My goal, as I start this blog, is to analyze arguments line by line and then big picture to foster better discourse among people with different opinions. I  will attempt to explain  arguments in the most accessible and polite way I can but fair warning, I am a naturally sassy individual. Sometimes a little sass makes things more fun to read anyways. Constructive dialogue in comments is encouraged, but if I feel like you are being rude or disrespectful, I will mercilessly criticize your grammar.

If there’s something you’d like me to talk about, let me know in the comments. I’ll do my best to cover as much as I can. Until next time-

TTYL

 

